Sold Out

Formosa Baiye Dancong

$22

Baiye Dancong (white-leaved Dancong) from Mingjian, vintage 2011, traditionally processed

20g

Out of stock

Product contains: 20 g

SKU: 72843 Categories: , Tags: , , , , ,

Description

Baiye Dancong belongs to the Shuixian family and is mainly cultivated in China in Fenghuang. Baiye means “white leaf“. It was never cultivated in Taiwan until the late 90s or early 2000. Today, to my knowledge, there is only in Mingjian a small tea garden where this tea is cultivated.

Unfortunately we can only offer a very limited quantity of this rarity from Taiwan from our personal tea collection. It is especially exciting to compare the little brother from Taiwan with the classics from Fenghuang. Already at the sight of the dry leaves you will notice a small difference. The leaves of the little brother are clearly larger and more ripe plucked than those of the Baiye from Fenghuang, which look more delicate and also much younger plucked and have been twisted much more strongly. This results in a rather milder and not so wild character. The infusion colour is a bright orange and when you look at the leaves you can see clearly, especially on the ripe leaves, the very light colour which is characteristic for this cultivar. Together with the quite strong red edges one can see a very nice colour composition of yellowish red and green tones in the Gaiwan. The roasting is kept rather mild and sets only light, refining accents to not cover the naturally very fruity character of the Baiye. The aroma is very fruity, with clear notes of passion fruit. After the first infusions, more tart notes come to the surface, as is very typical for Dancongs. For tea connoisseurs it is a rare opportunity to compare this Baiye from Taiwan with its big brothers from Fenghuang and for friends of Taiwan Wulongs a rare opportunity to get to know completely different facets of Taiwan Wulongs.

Due to the traditional processing the Baiye Dancong can be stored without any loss of aroma. With increasing age, the aroma changes and develops its own unique charm.

Harvest date: spring 2011
Aroma: very fruity, typical varietal character, reminiscent of passion fruit
Oxidation: approx. 60%
Roasting: light
Origin: Mingjian, Nantou, Taiwan
Temperature: water temperature 100°C
Preparation: In this blog post you will find a description of how to brew Oolong tea in an optimal way.
Tip: The aroma in the mouth unfolds best when the tea is not drunk too hot, but waits until it has cooled down a little in the cup.
This tea is especially suitable for preparation in the Gaiwan or in a small Yixing pot in Chaozhou Gongfu style. Brewing times should not be too long, as Dancongs naturally contain more bitter substances than other Taiwan Wulongs. If you dose the amount of leaves well, you can still steep it directly in a pot or cup and just let the leaves sink to the bottom and add some hot water if necessary (grandpa-style).

Additional information

PRODUCT CONTAINS 20g

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Sold Out

Formosa Baiye Dancong

20 CHF

Baiye Dancong (weissblättriger Dancong) aus Mingjian, Jahrgang 2011, traditionell verarbeitet

20g

AUSVERKAUFT

Inhalt: 20 g

Artikelnummer: 72843 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: ,

Beschreibung

Baiye Dancong stammt aus der Shuixian Familie und wird hauptsächlich in China in Fenghuang kultiviert. Baiye heisst ‘weisses Blatt‘. Auf Taiwan ist er bis Ende der 90er Jahre oder Anfang 2000 nie angebaut worden. Heute gibt es meines Wissens nur in Mingjian einen kleinen Teegarten wo dieser Tee angebaut wird.

Leider können wir nur sehr begrenzt aus persönlicher Sammlung etwas von dieser Rarität auf Taiwan anbieten. Dabei ist es besonders spannend den kleinen Bruder aus Taiwan mit den Klassikern aus Fenghuang zu vergleichen. Schon beim Anblick des trockenen Blattgutes merkt man einen kleinen Unterschied. Die Blätter des kleinen Bruders sind deutlich größer und reifer gepflückt als die des Baiye aus Fenghuang, die zierlicher und auch deutlich jünger gepflückt wirken und viel stärker gezwirbelt wurden. Das wirkt sich in einem eher etwas milderen und nicht ganz so wildem Charakter aus. Die Aufgussfarbe hat ein leuchtendes Orange und beim Blick auf das Blattgut sieht man deutlich, vor allem bei den reifen Blättern, die sehr helle Farbe die Charakteristisch ist für diesen Kultivar.  Zusammen mit den recht stark ausgeprägten roten Rändern zeigt sich einem in der Gaiwan eine sehr schöne Farbkomposition von gelb-rot-grünen Farbtönen. Die Röstung ist eher mild gehalten und setzt nur leichte, veredelnde Akzente um den von Natur aus  sehr fruchtigen Charakter des Baiye nicht zu überdecken. Das Aroma ist sehr fruchtig, mit deutlichen Noten von Passionsfrucht. Nach den ersten Aufgüssen treten dann vermehrt herbe Noten in den Vordergrund, wie es für Dancongs sehr typisch ist. Für Teekenner ist es eine seltene Gelegenheit diesen Baiye aus Taiwan mit den großen Brüdern aus Fenghuang zu vergleichen und für Freunde von Taiwan Wulongs eine seltene Gelegenheit ganz andere Facetten von Taiwan Wulongs kennenzulernen.

Durch die traditionelle Verarbeitung ist der Baiye Dancong problemlos lagerbar ohne an Aroma einzubüssen. Mit zunehmendem Alter wandelt sich das Aroma und entwickelt seinen ganz eigenen Reiz.

Erntezeit: Frühling 2011
Aroma: Sehr fruchtig, typischer Sortencharakter, erinnert an Passionsfrucht
Oxidation: ca. 60%
Röstung: leicht
Herkunft: Mingjian, Nantou, Taiwan.
Temperatur: 100°C
Zubereitung: In diesem Blogpost wird beschrieben wie man Oolong Tee optimal aufgiesst.
Tipp: Das Aroma im Mund entfaltet sich am besten wenn man den Tee nicht zu heiss trinkt, sondern kurz wartet bis er in der Tasse etwas abgekühlt ist.
Dieser Tee eignet sich besonders für die Zubereitung in der Gaiwan oder oder in einer kleinen Yixing Kanne nach Chaozhou Gongfu Style. Ziehzeiten sollten nicht zu lange sein, da Dancongs von Natur aus mehr Bitterstoffe enthalten als andere Taiwan Wulongs. Wenn man die Blattmenge gut dosiert kann man ihn aber dennoch auch gut in der Kanne oder in der Tasse direkt aufgiessen und die Blätter einfach zu Boden sinken lassen und bei Bedarf etwas heisses Wasser nachgiessen.

Zusätzliche Information

INHALT 20g

Bewertungen

Es gibt noch keine Bewertungen.

Nur angemeldete Kunden, die dieses Produkt gekauft haben, dürfen eine Bewertung abgeben.